For my sister


My younger sister is on her way home after spending a week in the hospital after surgery for thyroid cancer.  She has a long row to hoe, so to speak, as she has a lot of preparation ahead of her for her radioactive therapy, including  pre-treatment injections, two at $1000 apiece.

Luckily, this is a type of cancer that is 98% curable.  By standards, she should be cancer free within 6 months. But other than remission, what are some of the other things she has to look forward  to? 

Her family, for one thing.  A loving, devoted husband, who’s weak stomach became as strong as iron as he helped her through more than one vomiting episode while she was hospitalized.  Her daughter, who kept the family updated on her status even though this thing has been more than traumatic for her.  Her son, whose own son was born 3 months premature and knows far too well the life-and-death drama of a family member, and her 11 siblings, who, for the most part, have been relatively healthy until now.

I’m the person in this family who usually falls ill to a myriad of things; Guillain-Barre Syndrome, diabetes, to name a couple.  Another sister refers to me as the “Disease  Swiffer” of the family.  If anyone is stricken with anything, it’s usually me.  And I don’t mind a bit.  I think of it as Devine Retribution for all the bad things I’ve done.  So when anyone else becomes seriously ill, I feel extremely guilty….I didn’t use my Swifferdom to keep them healthy.

If I could take this away from her, I would.  But I can’t.  So in the meantime, I want her to know that I am with her throughout all of this, and that she can count on me for total support for the “Girl With The Strawberry Curl”.

I love you, D.

2 thoughts on “For my sister

  1. Sorry for that swiffer remark. But this was a very touching post. If I could, I would go stay with her and help out, even if it did make me radioactive.

Leave a Reply

